This section documents the features and behaviours for all features within “Manage my account”. It’s divided according to the tabs present in “Manage my account”
“My Account” tab
This tab allows you to edit your personal details, change your password and set your locale settings.
“My Organization” tab
A regular user and guest user has two states in Tallyfy.
A user is never deleted in Tallyfy unless an entire organization is deleted – they are simply disabled. This prevents them from logging in to your organization, and disabled users are also not counted for billing purposes.
The only time when a “Disable” button shows as “Delete permanently” is when only a single user exists for an organization. Clicking this entirely removes that user and everything about that organization – including all content. It’s a dangerous operation, and you should be very sure you want everything wiped out in the current organization.
An enabled user
This user is active and able to login. They are allowed to do anything their role allows them to do.
A disabled user
- Not able to login
- All data about their actions is still kept – such as their past history of runs
- Must pass the conflict resolution process before being disabled, defined in the section below
- Once in disabled state, they are not considered active for billing purposes if they are a regular user
- You can re-enable a disabled user, in which case that user simply becomes active for billing purposes. Everything subsequent to that, such as adding roles for that re-enabled user or assigning them responsibilities in checklists must be done manually.
- When a user is re-enabled, Tallyfy uses their existing profile and history, and begins collecting data again on the same profile. Hence there is data continuity between the past, the absent period in the middle and the current. However, any other aspects that user lost in conflict resolution when they got disabled, such as checklist ownership – needs to be re-assigned manually.
Conflict resolution – the process required for disabling a user
This applies to both guest and regular users.
- It is not possible to disable a user who is the only remaining user in “Administrator” role within an organization. In this case, you will only see “Delete permanently”.
- Active tasks pending – when that user has inbox tasks pending – ownership must be re-assigned for each task.
- Checklist owner/creator – when that user owns one or more checklists – ownership must be re-assigned.
- Step ownership on master checklist – any individual step on any master checklist where that user is set as responsible (individually) for a given step is highlighted – and responsibility must be re-assigned.
- Disabling is not possible without the conflicts above being resolved
The view that does each one of the above separately is called the “Conflict resolution” view. On one side it shows how things are right now, and on the other side – you need to choose the new state/re-assignment of that item to another user.
Every conflict must be resolved before you can disable a user successfully. This ensures that everything that user was involved in, is re-assigned to another user.
“Roles and Groups” tab
Roles are coming soon to Tallyfy. At present, we have two roles – Administrator and Staff. The Administrator role has full access rights over everything in Tallyfy, whilst a user with a Staff role cannot invite others into the organization.
This section deals with all aspects of billing within Tallyfy. Tallyfy bills per regular user, per organization, per month.
All our billing is done at the organization level. The organization gets 30 days as a free trial – NOT each user that joins into that organization.
We do not do any billing at the user level – that is, we don’t have a system where each user in an organization has to fulfil their billing obligations separately. A single payment method is charged for the entire organization.
Some terminology is necessary to understand the remainder of this section:
- Free trial period – this is 30 days by default from the signup date to a fixed finish date, and is granted to all new organizations. You can invite and add as many regular users as you like into your organization during this free trial period.
- Billing period – defined as a period of 30 days by default, with a start date and an end date.
- Maximum users per billing period – defined as the maximum number of users you had during a given billing period. Even if your number of users at any given date is different to the maximum users per billing period, you are charged for the most users you had during that billing period. For example – if you had 65 users yesterday and today, you have 50 users in your organization – you will be charged for 65 users, the maximum reached – for this billing period.
- Guest users – guest users are defined as those belonging to a role in Tallyfy called “Guest”. These users have limited features and access rights and can only participate in a run they are invited to. All guest users are free within Tallyfy.
- Guest to User upgrade – this is a process where someone who came in as a guest user decides to upgrade at their own cost to a normal user. They must create their own organization (or one will be created for them) as part of this process.
- Disabled user – a disabled user is one that cannot login to Tallyfy, even though they still exist on the system. You are not charged for disabled users – you are only charged for active, regular users.
- Payment method – this is usually a credit card or any other payment method that’s supported by us and Stripe, our payment processing service. A payment method, such as a credit card – is not linked to any given user. This means that the person paying for the entire organization does not have to also be a paid user of Tallyfy.
- Billing contact – this is filled in separately, and comprises of information like a company name, individual name, mailing address and email address. All invoices will be sent to the email address filed within “Billing contact”. A billing contact is not linked to a user in Tallyfy. This allows you flexibility in separating invoicing and payment from users of your Tallyfy organization. In most cases however – the billing contact email address is the same as a user within that organization. By default – we assume the creator of the organization is also the billing contact – but you can change this if you like. Please be sure to type in the email address of your billing contact accurately, since we cannot be held responsible for invoices not being delivered due to a mistyped email address.
- Invoice – this is issued to a specific billing contact by email, attached as a PDF.
We currently offer a simple billing model. All organizations get a 30 days free as a trial. Initially, only one user will create/join the organization. Later, more users may be invited.
How we charge you for your organization
For each billing period, Tallyfy charges for the maximum number of users in that billing period.
Hence, you are charged and sent an invoice AFTER a billing period – because we can only know the maximum number of users you had after the billing period is finished.
You always pay for the billing period that has already passed – not a billing period coming up in future.
To clarify this further, here is a concrete example:
- John signs up to Tallyfy for the first time. He creates an organization called “John’s Bakery”. His organization now has a 30 day free trial.
- After a few days, John invites two of his colleagues into the organization – Mary and Amanda. Hence, “John’s Bakery” now has 3 users.
- Everybody carries on using Tallyfy until the 30 day trial period is almost over. Since John is happy with Tallyfy, and wants to pay to continue using it – he files a credit card as a payment method, which means that Tallyfy can charge for the next billing period automatically.
- On day 30 – after the trial period is over, the next billing period begins. Tallyfy applies no charge for the 30 day billing period that just passed, because it was a 30 day free trial.
- To continue using Tallyfy after day 30, a payment method must be filed – even though it will not be charged.
- Everyone keeps using Tallyfy actively for month 2 – the second billing period.
- On day 60 – Tallyfy charges the credit card filed for “John’s Bakery” for 3 users. This is because this organization continued to have a maximum of 3 users during this second billing period.
- Tallyfy charges the payment method for this organization after each billing period has passed, ad infinitum until the organization is deleted from our systems.
All payments are taken automatically, and you will be issued an invoice indicating that the sum has already been paid, with a PDF attached.
If there’s any problems with payment – you will see messages helping you resolve the issue, and you can also contact Tallyfy to resolve any such issue.